to eat / what i ate last week

In no specific order:

1) In-N-Out (Reno, Nevada)
My third In-N-Out experience was the best. We arrived a little early and was waiting for ‘em to open at 10:30am. We quickly realized… they were open before 10:30am! This was great because I had to catch a flight and who doesn’t like to eat at a spanking clean, practically empty In-N-Out? Service was friendly and personal.

I got the double double animal style with a strawberry shake and fries (which were unfortunately disposed of to catch the flight). Next time, I want a Neapolitan shake.

I have to eat Shake Shack soon to compare the burgers. Say what you want, but In-N-Out is hyped up even more because it’s not available in most of the country.

2) Capisce (Zephyr Cove, Nevada)
We had a charming group dinner here. It was a quick ride from the South Lake Tahoe “village”. This is a friendly family-run restaurant with great service and reasonably priced dishes with huge portions. There was live Spanish guitar playing! I will eventually write a Yelp review for them. No photographic evidence… but I liked my spicy pasta and minestrone soup.

3) Driftwood Cafe (South Lake Tahoe, Nevada)
Brunch is one of my favorite meals. I came here twice, once for lunch and once for breakfast. Cute spot for anyone staying near the village.

For lunch, I had a half order of the Carolina Connection — potato pancake topped with grilled ham, over-medium egg, and sausage gravy… and a buttermilk biscuit. Sausage gravy always reminds me of my dorm breakfasts. This was delicious and a half order was perfect.

For breakfast, I had Ed’s Best Omelette — bacon, fresh garlic, Swiss cheese, alfafa sprouts, and sour cream. Also hit the spot.

4) Pizza Hut (South Lake Tahoe, Nevada)
Pizza Hut gets a mention because it was the grossest food I’d consumed in a LONG time. Things shut down around 9pm in SLT. Pizza Hut was the only delivery option I could find. The thin crust pizza was so dried up and the $0.50 wings was 90% breading. So disappointing!! Most of it went into the trash.

*

Time to buckle down eating/exercise-wise, especially with more eating adventures planned for Barcelona and Asia. My friend, D, put together some nice posts on our quest to be healthier!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers