to shop / {cyber monday edition} petit bateau

I have a few brands that I love love love and Petit Bateau is one of them. Any girlfriend who’s been at Chicago Premium Outlets with me knows this! I first read about their t-shirts in Vogue when I was in grade school. Many years later, I stumbled upon their amazing outlet store in the Chicago Premium Outlets. What most people don’t know is that Petit Bateau is beyond a children’s brand. They have an extensive womenswear line and have branched into menswear in recent years.

The product is great – quality, classic, and comfortable cotton tops. Much like Sharon Stone and her Gap t-shirt at the Academy Awards, I regularly pair my tops with suits and work outfits. In the warmer months, I often wear their tops on a daily basis. They wash very well.The sales were equally amazing, e.g. $5/top. There was even one instance of a warehouse sale in Secaucus, NJ, which pushed the $5/item line. I’m not sure what happened, but over the years, PB closed the three outlet stores that I knew of, sample sales dwindled and pricing wasn’t as generous as before, and PB finally launched an online store that has periodic, decent sales.

My friend and I strolled down Champs-Élysées yesterday and stopped by the shop there. (FYI, it’s the one street that has open shops on a Sunday in Paris.) Discounts in Paris are never as generous as they are in the U.S. Perhaps because of scale? Even though I can typically get PB in the U.S., there are a significant number of styles that never seem to make it to PB’s US outlets. Overall PB isn’t a $$$ purchase and it is priced slightly cheaper than the U.S. I found a pretty perfect striped shirt, but it was sold out. I will be hunting down PBs in Paris today to find it!

Fast forward to today. I took a peek at Cyber Monday sales and through some random Googling, it looks like popular discount chain, Loehmann’s, has opened an online store and has 25% off everything (no code required). And they have a very big selection of Petit Bateau tops for women for <$15/top! Even without the additional 25%, the pricing is reasonable. No cashback, yet :( The site seems a bit buggy and some items are coming up different when I go to the product page versus the quick view.

Note on sizing: their sizing is by age. Adult women’s sizing is 12a (XS), 14a (S), 16a (M), 18a (L), 20a (XL). All of the tops on Loehmann’s come in their classic boxed packaging, are a good weight (not too thick or thin), and are fitted. Depending on the style, I go with my usual Gap size or size up. Their non-boxed styles tend to run larger, so size down.

3 comments
    • irene said:

      thanks, but i’m very anti-downloading anything. i’m on their mailing list so i did see that code too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers