to eat / what i ate recently

Some things I ate recently in no particular order. All of the pictures were taken with my shoddy Blackberry camera because I’ve been too busy to open my new camera’s box, but you get the idea.

1) Petrie Court Cafe at the Metropolitan Museum of Art (1000 Fifth Avenue, NYC; Upper West Side)

I had Friday off so we decided to go to the Met, exclusively to check out the Alexander McQueen Savage Beauty exhibit, which was extended to August 7. We got there around 10:30am and the line was 45 minutes long. The exhibit is highly recommended, if you can brave the lines and crowds! If you can’t, the book gets you close to it. Be forewarned that the cover is lenticular and can be scary. It was absolutely packed inside and I probably could’ve gotten away with a few Blackberry pictures, but I decided to respect the Museum’s wishes.

After the exhibit, we were famished and decided to grab a bite to eat at one of the cafes. We were one of the youngest tables there. This cafe is, not too surprisingly, very “in” with the folks way past retirement age. The lemon orzo chicken soup was delicious and the bruschetta was very in-season and fresh.

2) Lady M Confections (41 East 78th Street, NYC; Upper West Side)

After the Met, we walked over to Lady M, which I’ve wanted to visit for years but just never got around to it. It’s a Japanese cake boutique, opened by Tokyo’s Paper Moon. Their signature cake is the mille crepes cake. In NYC, you can also find it at Dean & Deluca. Out of towners, you can order from the boutique or from Saks (and probably Gilt City). It is delicious! After ogling the cakes for a few minutes, we settled on the banana mille feuille and the checkers cake. They have a lengthy tea and coffee menu, so we paired it with coffee drinks. I love afternoon breaks of cake and coffee. I’d previously read that pictures were not allowed – maybe just of the cake displays?

3) Butter Lane (123 East 7th Street, NYC; East Village)

Butter Lane is my go-to cupcake place. They recently started carrying Blue Bell! Thumbs up to the Tin Roof. This block is exploding with good places – Big Gay Ice Cream truck is opening up a shop as is People’s Pops!

4) Grand Central Oyster Bar (Grand Central Terminal)

Grand Central Oyster Bar is my favorite oyster bar in NYC. I think they beat all the other seafood bars in terms of variety and freshness of oysters. My coworker and I often grab seats at the bar, order a few oysters and a po boy, and call it a lunch. This was our pick of oysters on our last visit. Though it’s in a very busy part of town, we’ve never had to wait for seats during the prime lunch hour.

5) Lychee (126 St Marks, NYC; East Village)

Despite finding a screw in my basil fried rice once upon a time (and giving it a proper timeout), I couldn’t stop coming to this Thai joint. It’s delicious and so convenient. I always get my Seamlessweb orders delivered to my door in 15 minutes after I order! Once in a while I eat at the bar because I’m on my way home and too lazy to order in. Since mangoes are in season, I decided to give their mango and sticky rice a try. They use a family recipe for the coconut creme part. Delish and a huge portion.

6) L’Arte del Gelato (Chelsea Market, NYC; Meatpacking)

I heart gelato and I consider this place to be one of the legit places to get it in the city. Coconut and cinnamon. It’s not the prettiest serving… go to Amorino for a more appetizing arrangement!

4 comments
  1. talida said:

    BLUE BELL!! Sigh, I hate paying NYC prices for it when it costs $2.50 a gallon at home.

    • irene said:

      it’s like highway robbery…

  2. Wow! The banana mille feuille from Lady M in the Upper West Side looks…well…out of this world! We’re definitely going to have to make it a point to visit their soon.

    • irene said:

      let me know if you try anything else!

Leave a Reply

