to shop / nordstrom anniversary sale


Photo credit: Nordstrom.com

Every July, Nordstrom has an anniversary sale where they mark tons of upcoming items for the Fall (by 33%) and release exclusive items (also of good value). While there are many good “staples” on sale, 33% to me isn’t enticing enough for apparel. They also have Tory Burch flats and other somewhat coveted items, but their quality for exclusive items is arguable at times. In the past, I’ve picked up sunglasses. The cosmetics/skincare deals, on the other hand, are worth checking out. They have a nice La Mer set (which I read Evelyn Lauder uses every other week). You can pre-order this week if you are a cardholder (and get access to the full sale catalog!). Otherwise, prices go live on Friday. I took a browse and like the following items:

  • Somme Institute Transport Pads. 100 pads for the price of 50! They are chock full of glycolic acid and great for bringing gunk to the surface. It took a while to finish up on my last batch and I wish I’d stocked up more. There is enough liquid in each pad to swipe your decolletage too. Another cheaper, high end drugstore brand I tried just didn’t compare. $58.

  • Longchamp Le Pliage Medium Expandable Tote. I am pretty sure this is an Nordstrom anniversary sale exclusive. Measurements weren’t included and I have never seen this size before. Tempted, but I like the large le Pliage tote or expandable travel tote for traveling (the latter one has a sturdier shoulder strap but you have to be careful not to overload it). This does remind me of a mutant child between the large Planetes black tote and large le Pliage totes. For interested parties, it is marked down to $124.90 from $190 and comes in 6 classic colors, including black, graphite, red, and navy.
  • Attilio Giusti Leombruni Chain Trim Ballet Flats. AGL gets rave reviews for their ballet flats. I don’t like the chain. The line has a Bruno Magli-ish feel. Their ballet flats usually retail for $300. These are right under $200. No more shoes for me!
  • Michael Kors watches. The sale has a TON of Kors watches in rose gold, gold, black, 2-tone, silver, and white. All at 33% off. No more watches for me!
2 comments
  1. why does everyone <3 Michael Kor watches? I don't get it

    • irene said:

      i don’t know why people <3 michael kors in general. i think he's very overrated and he has too much hardware on most of his products, but, hey, he's an american designer! i have one kors watch, but i got it bc i genuinely like the watch shape.

Leave a Reply

