to eat & drink / {portland, or} pine state biscuits & coava coffee

If you haven’t noticed, I like sausage gravy and biscuits. Since I was raised in an Asian household, I never knew such a thing existed until I went to college. I used to be a morning person and loved grabbing breakfast at the dorms. So, how could I resist Pine State Biscuits? (WARNING — do not visit the website if you are hungry!) It has multiple locations in Northeast Portland (where most of the good stuff is) and according to Yelp, they were all equally crowded. I called ahead of time and my order was ready by the time I got there. It felt like a waste to just order one thing so I asked for recommendations and put in an order of the fried green tomatoes. Both items were excellent. I also picked up a cup of Coava Coffee, which shares space with a (fragrant) wood shop.

Pictured in order: The Reggie Deluxe (fried chicken, bacon, egg, and cheese topped with gravy), fried green tomatoes, Coava coffee, and Coava’s space.

These were two more great Portland recommendations from my friend, Steve. Thanks, Steve!

4 comments
  1. Albert said:

    I hate you and your tantalizing photos. So hungry.

    Also, I love your recent blog topics of sausage and discount retail.

    =)

  2. OMG i loooove sausage gravy and biscuits too!!! yummy!!! :)

  3. talida said:

    Great pix of the biscuits! One of my fave places to get biscuits and gravy is Whataburger in TX. Mmmmm..

    • irene said:

      I was so junk fooded out last time I was in the vicinity of a Whataburger…

Leave a Reply

