to shop / shopping black friday online

{Update on December 17}

I haven’t started shopping, or really eating, yet in Paris. It does help that the Parisians don’t really believe in having sales more than twice an year, or that French brands like Repetto or Petit Bateau is cheaper stateside than here, for the most part.

After resetting my expectations, I turned back online to catch the stateside Black Friday sales. Over the years, I’ve grown a distaste for shopping BF sales in person – crowds, store handled merchandise, etc. The sales are ok this year. If you’ve been waiting to buy, now is the time to unleash yourself because the deals are better than the usual. I will say I’m somewhat disgusted at myself and this is after I watched Confessions of a Shopaholic, to which my comment to my friend was, “We’re not as bad… she buys expensive, ugly things!“. I was victims at:

  • Asos – 20% off everything with code HAPPYBLACKFRIDAY (I am too lazy to update my code page). I got a pretty lace dress that is quite Catherine Middleton. And no, I’m not sick of lace yet. {Ick – this went back right away. Bad quality and I really can’t do the midi length.}
  • Zara – BF pricing on limited items. I got 30% off a blazer that I could get a lot of wear out of. {This also went back. I wasn’t in love.}
  • Anthropologie. Even though I end up returning most of what I buy from here, I can’t help from stocking up on Eberjey undies at a dirt cheap price or more silky apparel. They are taking an additional 50% off the morning of BF and you can bet I prepared my cart in advance. This jacket I’ve wanted for a while has finally been clearanced to $20. Don’t look for it in the sale section because it isn’t there =P {Most of this stuff went back to…}
  • Madewell. Because I have too much money lying around, I’ve giving Barbour a try. I don’t blame the clever placement of the Barbour shop down the street from my Parisian friend’s flat at all. {My wallet is glad I didn’t like Barbour.}
  • Yoox. I forgot to talk about Yoox in my last major shopping post. Yoox is an evil site because it makes designer goods much more accessible and it’s hard for me to stay away from any site that has constant price fluctuation and new inventory. I get slightly amused when I see something from a gazillion seasons ago and is more than twice what I paid (for the record, the retail on that was $800).
    • There is an additional 10% off code from the Facebook page, in addition to sale prices. If anything, you need to learn to check retailer’s Facebook pages before you check out. I got relatively dirt cheap 7 for All Mankind (<$40) and J Brand jeans (<$60). If you’re a 7 there are even better deals on shoes. I also love these gorgeous Calvin Klein collection pumps and won’t be bitter about the fact that I paid a bit more for them, final sale. (They ran 1/2 size small on me and the detail on these are fantastic.)
  • Boots from American Eagle and Aldo. Since I don’t think I’ll ever be ok spending serious dough on Acne Pistol boots or Isabel Marant boots, these will do. The AE ones were out of stock forever (and my coworker bears witness to my incessant “I can’t believe they’re out of stock and their stores don’t do mail orders!”) and have been replenished online just in time for the 40% off promotion. Aldo’s taking additional 30% off sale and there is also a 15% off code: getlucky75985. I like how Aldo can ship to a store. I will admit, some bloggers with really skinny ankles do not make these boots look attractive. Note, the following examples do not take into account sale codes that are noted above. Also, google for the best deal. It may not be the manufacturer’s site. {Thumbs up for the AEO boots!}

Exhibit 1: Acne Pistol boots ($570) vs. AEO side-zip bootie ($60)

Exhibit 2: Acne Pistol boots ($570) vs. Aldo Crisson ($63)

Exhibit 3: Isabel Marant Dicker boots ($615) vs. Report Marks ($110 – 20% off at Piperlime with code TWENTY)

Exhibit 4: Isabel Marant Dicker boots ($615) vs. Aldo Qualheim ($90)

I will probably return a ton of the above as usual. I usually am a big fan of Saks’ post-holiday sale, but I had trouble accessing their site with a French IP. Oh well, their loss. Au revoir as I check out some “stock outlets” in Paris.

Image sources: Acne, Aldo, Net-a-porter, Zappos, American Eagle, and Gravity Pope

3 comments
    • irene said:

      I’ve always been a fan of NM, but there was too much other stuff going on. No energy for NM!

  1. Daisy said:

    I like the CK pumps. Been looking for a perfect non-pointy toe not too high heel black pump. I didn’t do BF shopping. I don’t like crowds either, esp when you can shop online and avoid lines.

Leave a Reply

