to shop / mcq alexander mcqueen studded ballerina flats

While it may not be apparent (through my past entries on lace, Liberty florals, and polka dots), I like a bit of edge. One day, I will have to gather the COS jewelry I’ve amassed over my visits to the continent that contributes to my “bit of edge” collection. Today, let’s talk Alexander McQueen. The man was a genius. If you didn’t catch the Savage Beauty exhibit at the Met, make sure you check out the book.

My edge tends focus on accessories. Many of his accessories have skulls on it. As nice as his scarves are, I can’t get myself to buy or wear anything with a skull on it. I fell in love with these studded ballerina flats last year, but it was a bit too late to find them in my size on sale.

I was trolling Saks Fifth Avenue the other week when I saw these on sale, in black, and in a 39. I quickly ordered it along with some deeply discounted NEST candles and didn’t think twice about it. Unlike the ones above, these are from Alexander McQueen’s more cost effective line, McQ. I would also think these are easier to maintain than the ones above.

I was worried whether they would fit, so here is my rundown on McQ sizing: I’m typically a US 8 and 38.5. These were 39 and perfect, perhaps because they are pointy. Typically pointy = size up. I had almost given up finding a pair of pointy ballet flats in a versatile color and unknowingly stumbled upon these when I was really just drawn to the studs at first sight. Most importantly, these are a comfortable width. I had tried really hard to make the Theyskens Theory pointy ballet flats work, but they fit my foot at a really awkward, uncomfortable spot. I must applaud the lines of communication between the warehouse and Saks Fifth Avenue’s customer service. I had a little scare because FedEx claimed they couldn’t find my apartment. Saks was able to email the warehouse and they resent the package. This doesn’t happen with many ecommerce sites!

I really need to get to a cobbler soon and install shoe storage.

1 comment
  1. jin said:

    Haha, I bet I’m not the first girl who’d love to raid ur closet, Irene! Love the flats!

Leave a Reply

