to shop / orla kiely for uniqlo review

I visited the 34th Street Herald Square Uniqlo for this launch — it’s become my favorite Uniqlo because it’s deserted compared to the Soho and Fifth Ave location. I was pressed for time, so I did my usual overbuying buy-now-think-later. On top of that, a friend wanted a few things but was out of town. I wasn’t sure what her size was so I grabbed both sizes. While I was there, I got a text from another friend asking if I needed anything from this collab. Great minds think alike :)

It was a dreary week. Cheerful Orla prints is just what was needed. Don’t be fooled by the dresses… they were made of a stiff cotton.



The cashier couldn’t have been nicer…

The scarves were the best deal – $12.90. A light polyester and comes in tons of patterns. I need to figure out what to keep. I have a lot of these in housewares and it feels strange wearing these prints.

All the tops/tunics I got. I was not impressed with the trapeze cut of the tanks, I can live without the tees (that were a total last minute impulse grab), and I was not impressed overall with the stiff cotton in the tunics/shirts/dresses. I did like the floral pattern on the right and will probably only end up keeping that one. Sizing is similar to normal Uniqlo sizing.

Dying to get something but you don’t have access? I see tons on eBay and don’t forget Suddenlee for your personal shopping needs. Also, if you’re a good enough friend, all you need to do is ask!

2 comments
  1. pauline said:

    pretty :)

  2. talida said:

    Yes, the dresses were disappointing.. so far I’m most happy with the scarves, and I may just keep 1 tee. I’m glad I went when I did, so that I at least have options!

Leave a Reply

