to shop / {gap favorites} the striped knit dress

Previously featured in this series: the shirtdress and the ballet flat.

Gap’s been knocking out a series of striped dresses and I’ve tried every one of ’em.

  • The first incarnation came out in late Winter 2012 and was made of non-preshrunk ponte knit, that’s right, preshrunk. I shrunk one by accident because I stupidly decided to put it in the dryer and it shrunk! I did manage to secure another one, but I have some plans to save the shrunken version.
  • The latter versions came in a heavier rugby cotton or a slub material. I favored ponte because it is soft, rather lightweight and therefore seasonless, and easy to throw on under a blazer and over tights. Rugby is too heavy for the summer.

The current edition is the nautical shift, on the righthand side of the picture. The zipper detail on the shoulder makes it slightly trendier. Since all of these dresses shrink slightly in the wash, I highly recommend the tall sizes if you want a more conservative skirt length (I’m still talking about above the knee). You can also see that I’m not the only person who opts for the tall length… most of it has sold out!
Through Sunday, get another 30% off with code GAPFRIENDS.

Image source: Gap & irenelikes

2 comments
    • ireneadm said:

      Hi, I LOVE Target, but I don’t live near one and frankly, their site is an awful shopping experience to process returns or find things. Thanks for letting me know — I’m checking it out! I love the black/tan stripe color.

Leave a Reply

