to shop / dress shopping at dillard’s and hobbs

Some dresses I’ve been stalking finally went on sale!

I’d never heard of the British brand, Hobbs, but for those who have been following my blog long enough, it’s a no brainer why I’d fancy this dress with all its broderie anglaise. It looks similar to the Whistles Lisa Dress I got over the summer in London, except suitable for colder weather. Like most British brands, some of the other Hobbs styles look rather stuffy. To check out Hobbs, google for other third party sites as Hobbs’ own international shipping is insane at 20 gbp.

Dillard’s is a Southern department store chain which I’ve been shopping from, online, for ages. They have pretty insane sales, carry many brands that bigger, more well-known department stores like Macy’s, Nordstrom, and NM carry, and have great house lines that are on trend (see Alex Marie or Antonio Melani). Similar to Hobbs, you have to pick through the house brands to find the gems. The quality is pretty good and I’ve seen styles that look almost identical to Marc by Marc Jacobs before. I also found a great copy of the Issa wrap dress (which was made popular by Kate Middleton), but I’ve had trouble finding it in my unpacked boxes. Ha. They had a really good New Year’s sale, but just started another sale. While prices aren’t as low as the NY prices, they are still pretty decent. I never buy anything at full price here. Be careful, however, of the items that are marked as final sale in your cart.

(l to r)

They also carry Elie Tahari. This season ET brought back my favorite Lolly dress in lace, in navy. I picked it up in black last year. It looks like some modifications were made to the bodice, thus bringing it down in price too. 65% off is a great price for this dress. The quality is amazing.

Leave a Reply

