to watch / if you like downton abbey…

I cut the cable television cord in mid-2012. Then, I got a Roku and it changed my life. I already had Amazon Prime and have been supplementing with Netflix, Hulu Plus, and Aereo. There is some slight overlap with these and I watch Amazon Prime the least. I used to watch a lot of reality television and I can’t say I miss it. On the other hand, it’s so easy to binge on any single show and I’ve been catching up on some TV shows including some British period dramas and other bad ones that are not worth mentioning. If you like Downtown Abbey, check these out:

Upstairs, Downstairs (2011, 2012)

I never watched the original and this is supposed to be a continuation of the original. You don’t need it for background. It is a bit glitzy and is set around the World Wars. Watch both seasons for free with Amazon Prime.

The Forsyte Saga (2002, 2003)

The series is based on novels by John Galsworthy and it’s not the first time the books have been brought to the big screen. I watched this back when it first aired on PBS and recently rewatched it. It’s still a favorite. It is less glitzy than the series above, but the character development and storyline is excellent. A few of the actors may also look familiar…

Image source: BBC

Leave a Reply

