to shop / downsizing my closet, part 3

Collage of items I’ve sold on eBay over the last 60 days (not complete of course! and doesn’t include Craigslist sales)

Highlights of recent farewells

  • My first, nice leather tote from J.Crew, purchased during college. J.Crew quality used to be so much better than what it is now. I think I got it in 2001 or 2002 and I carried it to all my interviews. It’s amazing how I got (probably) 50% of what I originally paid. It was sitting in my closet at my parents’ house for more than half a decade. I always grab some vintage J.Crew items whenever I go home to resell. Ha.
  • Lacoste polo with random stain – sold as is. Anything goes! I call auctions like that, making some lunch money because what do you have to lose?
  • My Chanel Timeless Wallet on Chain in red caviar leather that I purchased at Heathrow last July and just never used. It was one of the first items to adorn my apartment built-in shelf and it never left the shelf.
  • A bunch of random, like new items that I have worn and like, but decided that the time has past and I can live without it. Yes, if you take care of your items, market it well, people really do buy it.
  • Forever 21 items that are brand new and refunded through Amex, but Amex never asked for the items… These items sell the fastest since I use the photos/description from the product page (something I always save when I buy something and can find it online) and mark it slightly lower than retail.
  • Target blazer that I bought and wore once because I forgot to pack work clothes for a work trip.
  • Wow, I see three silk shirts from J.Crew/Madewell (same thing).

Honorable mentions

  • USPS Priority Mail’s padded flat rate envelopes. If you have to mail anything relatively small and soft periodically, order these free envelopes from the USPS. They are super convenient (and can fit a pair of jeans). They are not available at post offices — that is when they upsell you into buying shipping products, but can you blame them? They’re in massive debt. If you’re selling on eBay or sending something important, do not use these on international shipments. USPS does not track items shipped in flat rate packaging overseas.
  • HP Laserjet. I’ve been using an HP Laserjet since 1997 and this is only my second printer. My first one died last year. The ink cartridges last forever and now they print wirelessly. So convenient!
  • Best Offers and the eBay Store. I started using fixed price auctions last year. They are a bit pricey. You get a discount on the insertion fee if you open a store, which is worth it if you have enough inventory. But the option I really love is the “best offer” option and being able to set your absolute minimum/automatic rejection. Ahh… the wonders of consumer behavior. And the store lets you keep your listing up until it sells.
  • The spot next to my window that’s perfect for picture taking. Because you can’t use stock photos for every brand… and the perfect lighting is a part of the marketing mentioned above.

There are definitely some things I am reluctant to let go, but once I decide, I rarely swing back to the other side. If you don’t need it, get rid of it!

What do you need to get rid of?

3 comments
  1. Do you have any advice on how to sell clothing on eBay? I buy off eBay all the time but I don’t have any experience selling.

Leave a Reply

