to read / maira kalman does alhambra

I was catching up on my magazines on my flights and was so ecstatic to see Maira Kalman’s piece on Alhambra in the latest Departures Magazine! I’ve been to Alhambra in Granada, Spain three times (over two trips since you can also gain night admission). It’s a magical place – it’s intricately beautiful, full of history (you can imagine the stories that the walls and trees can tell), idyllic with the sound of streaming water, and peaceful. I let my mind wander a bit when I’m there and it is hard not to get inspired. If you’re ever in Spain, I highly recommend detouring to Granada.

Yes, I’m totally behind on photos, but you can see that I posted a few a very long time ago.

You can see her other works on her website.

(Click to enlarge)

Images from Departure.