to shop / {sale review} ann taylor – feb 2016

Ann Taylor has sales more often than not. I go for the basic styles, because the trendy items are almost always returned or eBayed a few months down the line. Their current sales are great because there are tons of classic pieces and most items are not final sale. Get an extra 60% off sale with code SHOP60 through Monday night.

I like that their site has big, clear photos at various angles and user reviews. AT has some nice, trendy items and the quality is usually pretty good for what it is. It’s great for building a professional wardrobe.

Image source: Ann Taylor

(L to R) Sale items may be sold out, but inventory frequently updates throughout the day.

  • Collared Wrap Front Blouse in Navy. There is a ton of polyester on AT. This one had the right weight, isn’t see through (for this dark color), and draped nicely over pants and skirts for work.
  • Boiled Cape Wool Coat in Modern Porcelain. Runs big. I go between regular and petite and got this in petite. It came slightly wrinkled which highlighted that the material was slightly thinner than I’d like. I didn’t like the way it hung. Verdict: Returned.
  • Pleated Sweater Skirt in Black and Cream. Based on reviews, I sized up and wanted length, so did not go for petites. It does not suck you in, so I wear this comfortably layered under tops that extend past the waist and sometimes layer another topper/long cardigan on top. I loved it so much in black that I went back for a cream. It’s now final sale.
  • Stretch Leggings (not pictured). I’ve gotten a pair or two every year since they started making them in 2013. They are my go to leggings-ish pants with thicker legging material and an elastic waistband. I’m short, but I get the regular and petite length and wear them depending on the time of the year. I machine wash and hang dry. I haven’t gotten rid of any yet, but a couple pairs have worn looking waistbands. Highly recommend!
Leave a Reply

