to shop / j.crew gingham, red plaid trench | brooks brothers wrap coat & cotton blend jacket reviews

J.Crew

Trench Coat in Gingham

Boxy fit. Size down! I love the simplicity of the black and white. And it’s on sale – sizes pop back often. Also available for full price on Net-a-Porter.

Collection Red Plaid Trench Coat in Nylon

I can’t believe this was a Collection piece. It runs about 2-3 sizes too big and is pure wrinkly nylon. Two thumbs down.

Brooks Brothers

I love navy. The quality and fit on Brooks Brothers‘ main line can be impeccable and I love when they have petite sizing. Items tend to pop back online, so if you love something, do check back periodically. Amex cardholders, don’t forget to use Shoprunner for free 2-day shipping and returns. If you prefer the whimsy/preppy, check out the Red Fleece line.

Wrap Coat

Great sale price, but keep in mind this is all high quality nylon, albeit very nicely tailored and quality. I like the drape, the shape of the sleeves, and cuff. I do not like the stiffness of the belt, but I suppose you need the stiffness to keep it tied. It does look nice without the belt. This ran true to size.

Cotton Blend Jacket

This jacket is gorgeous and looks much better in person. I like the large hood and the lightness of the nylon/cotton blend. It’s also water repellent. Looks like a great layer for traveling, but not wrinkleproof. Not as great of a sale price, but it’s no surprise that it’s mostly sold out at “only” 50%. It runs big — I think I sized down 2 sizes.

Leave a Reply

