to pamper / {deal alert} drugstore skincare favorites

Through Saturday, Drugstore.com is running a 20% off promotion off the beauty department, which includes skin care, cosmetics, hair care, bath, etc. Some items are already discounted and you can get 4% back through eBates (which also has 8% back for Neiman Marcus, Sephora and 9% back for Yoox this week!). Get free 2-day shipping (on most items) with ShopRunner (previously free for Amex cardholders and recently free for all to compete with Amazon Prime). This is the lowest price I’ve seen for my favorite cleanser!



Now, I’ve been taming my hoarding tendencies and limited it to what I’m using at the moment. I really dislike buying last minute at NYC-retail if I don’t have to. In my cart:

  • Cerave Foaming Facial Cleanser: It has hyaluronic acid and cleans well while retaining moisture. Cetaphil or the Cerave Hydrating cleanser never did a thing for me. The only thing this can’t clean for me is waterproof mascara, for which I use…
  • Neutrogena Extra Gentle Eye Makeup Remover Pads: Much easier to tote around than the liquid remover. This is for when I’m traveling or feeling lazy (but if you’re in a pinch, use any thick moisturizer as a replacement to swipe).
  • Thayer’s Rose Petal Toner: I usually swipe this across the face and neck with a Renee Rouleau toning cloth and layer on a serum before the toner dries. It smells very nice and isn’t drying like most toners because it is alcohol-free. It also has witch hazel, aloe vera, and vitamin E. My bottle lasted over an year. As a rose lover, I made the mistake of getting the unscented version the last time I restocked because it was a few dollars cheaper!
  • Neutrogena Healthy Skin Rapid Tone Repair Moisturizer SPF 30: I’ve been using this since February and I love it. It has hyaluronic acid, vitamin C, a light retinol, and SPF 30 (I won’t go below 30). Its consistency is light, almost like a serum. It also comes in a nice bottle, but word to the wise, it goes fairly quickly – as in 2 months – so I will not be wasting any more on my hands. It is a pricier drugstore moisturizer, however, I justify it for these reasons: (1) smaller container means it’s used up quicker for fresher contents, (2) it’s still much cheaper than higher end moisturizers with comparable ingredients, while not skimping on the R&D, (3) prevention is cheaper than correction, and (4) great sale prices (<$15 on sale is close to a bottle of Olay that has less nutrients). I also picked up the night version as I’ve read great reviews.

 

Leave a Reply

