to eat / what i ate last week

1) Clinton Street Bakery (4 Clinton Street, NYC; Lower East Side)
I’m not a big fan of pancakes, but CSB’s light and spongey blueberry pancakes are hard to resist from time to time. February is CSB’s pancake month where they feature special flavors. If you hate the wait for brunch, they also serve pancakes on their dinner menu. I love breakfast food, so I wouldn’t object to eating it for all meals. I heated up leftover Japanese pumpkin pancake the other day (smearing some maple butter across before reheating) and topped it with chunks of pomelo. My work cafeteria was selling pomelos — I had to pick up a few! In addition to loving breakfast food, I also love combining fruits with food.

2) La Maison du Macaron (132 W. 32nd St, NYC; Chelsea)
My birthday was months ago and things have been so busy, I haven’t had time to meet up with C. C greeted me with a sweet box of macarons at our dim-sum lunch. Not bad and gold dust makes everything prettier.

3) Spot Dessert Bar (13 St Marks Pl, NYC; East Village)
On the busy block of St Marks between Third and Second, Spot is a modern, rustic haven. I haven’t been there in a while because I’m annoyed at inconsistencies with redeeming their buy x, get y card. I still don’t like them, but I needed to a place to chat and this just happened to be the most appropriate spot (no pun intended).

I tried the jasmine rice pudding (mascarpone cream, persimmon, toasted pistachio, chocolate chili tuile, and saffron ice cream), a pleasant mixture of flavors.

And while I have consumed a few other visually appealing things, there is no photographic evidence.

I’m behind on life and sleep. I can’t wait for things to return to normal!

4 comments
  1. talida said:

    And I still need to take you to M. Wells! I finally went on Friday and it lived up to everything I read. Let’s set a date for it!

  2. Isabella said:

    need to try vanille patisserie next time you’re in chi!

  3. psst psst… I found your blog when I was searching for Clare Vivier images or mentions, and have been perusing your blog since. I like it a lot, will be around and probably post a few comments on really old stuff!

    Your shoe roundup makes me want to try some Repettos… maybe sometime!

    • irene said:

      thanks :) hopefully i will have more time to blog. on a small hiatus. i like your blog too!

Leave a Reply

