to shop / what is up with down

I have waited a long time for chic and affordable down “jackets”. After using Uniqlo for a few seasons, “lightweight” is also a must.

Uniqlo

I’m so glad I didn’t go out of my way to get the EU-only Uniqlo x Comptoir des Cotonniers down jackets last year, because it’s hit Uniqlo now for a much lower price and without colorblocking!

I’m a huge fan of Uniqlo’s ultra lightweight down. It is extremely light, compact, slimming, yet super warm. It’s perfect to pack for a trip where you need to cover multiple climates with limited luggage space, because it takes up close to no space.

This year’s down collection has a few new styles. If you really like something, don’t wait too long because they do sell out and do not always restock. Also, they tend to tweak styles year to year, so what you got last year may not be identical to what you get this year. Some of the new styles are minimally fashionable (unlike Moncler). Other styles acknowledge layering and are cut to minimize bulk. I can’t wait to check out the collarless jacket (which admittedly looks a bit like the jacket I got from Joe Fresh last year and haven’t worn yet).

While I typically gravitate towards black, I’ve purposely selected colors to demonstrate the detail and color range.

My petite friends, don’t forget to check out the kids’ styles. In looking at the extremely detailed size charts, the largest kid size (150) should fit a petite S – M. I think these would layer well.

Mango

I haven’t tried any of these “foldable, ultra light down” jackets from Spanish brand, Mango, but let me know your thoughts if you do. Mango’s distribution center is located in NJ, so shipping to NYC is typically next day and return shipping is a minimal cost.

( 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 )

Leave a Reply

