to shop / new workhorse shoes

I’ve been spending more than I want on shoes lately. I live in flats and some have been dying slowly after 3+ years of abuse on New York City streets, so I’ve been searching high and low for suitable replacements. I learned my lesson with flip flops and regret not listening to my mother, not to mention the germs. Life is too short to spend in uncomfortable shoes. I’ve been living in:

  • Gap ballet flats (Spring 2010) that are knock-offs of Repetto, except with a sturdier rubber bottom. I was in Boston for work, wandered to a Gap, and discovered that I totally missed out of this gem because I’d been out of the country. To further complicate things, it was on sale. I went into a frenzy mode and promptly located 4 pairs and had them shipped (for free). I got a pair in black, poppy red (pictured below), and metallic blue. I sold the metallic blue (just not my color scheme) and a pair of the blacks that was masquerading as a half size smaller (a nasty, old Gap habit). They have yet to have another ballet flat as great as this one – their current foldable city flat has no arch support and I limit it to airplane use. Sadly, my poppy red ballet flats from Zara are not as comfy as these and I’m still debating whether I want to break the Gap cap toe flats in.
  • Butter nude patent bow flats. So comfy. I got them zipsoled at the cobbler when they were brand new. They should last a while.
  • Two pairs of Marc by Marc Jacob ballet flats. I pulled a Jackie O at a post-Christmas sale at a now-defunct e-tailer and bought the same pair in two colors – black and a peachy ballet pink. I love MBMJ ballet flats (minus the mouse styles that I will never comprehend). They run half a size small. Sadly, their more recent styles have been too hardware-friendly and these two pairs are dying. I don’t think I’ll ever find a ballet flat in this shade of pink again!

  • Repettos – I have one pair that got caught in a torrential downpour that needs some TLC and a few new pairs to mull over (it takes me months to decide whether to keep and sole or to eBay).

Contenders
Good shoes are not easy to find. I’m not afraid to buy/return or buy/eBay.

Marc by Marc Jacobs Jovi (615168). I’ve been stalking the Internet and eBay feverishly to find MBMJ replacements and so far I’ve come up with these flats, on sale. I’m not a huge fan of the plaque, but they are nude/black, cap-toe, and feel like butter.

Coach Salma nude patent pumps. And speaking of nude shoes, my friend decided that the shoe code for her bridesmaids was nude. I busted out these Cole Haan nude patent pumps that have been sitting on my shelf too long. I concluded at the wedding that despite the Nike Air technology, they are too narrow and plain uncomfortable. Another non-wedding party fashionista friend had on these pumps pictured below and I demanded to know where she got them. She surprised me when she said Coach! The Salma style is really hard to find as they already went on sale, but I managed to snag a pair after I figured out what my size was! (Thanks, Lord and Taylor, and sorry, you didn’t have my color/size. Don’t size up.)

Prada cherry bow black patent flats. I got the pump version of this with the white bow during the Saks After Christmas sale (one of the best sales). It was way too high for me, so I reluctantly got rid of them. Fast forward 6 months, I woke up early one morning and found out that Bluefly had aggressively slashed a chunk of designer shoes (plus a hefty coupon and cashback) and the flat version of this shoe was available in my size. I hope they fit!

1 comment
  1. Great post. I’ve worn my Zara ballet flats to death and loved them. They aren’t the most comfortable, but a good price point for running into the ground.

Leave a Reply

